Party bags!!!

Forgive me Lord of the Dance/Rings/Vodka/*insert appropriate deity here*, for it’s been 3 weeks since my last blog….

And I’ve been going birthday party crazy!!!  Thankfully nothing that requires an ACTUAL confession, but there were a few homicidal thoughts as I tackled the shopping centres  in search of the last few ‘essential’ items for Snotface’s party.

I believe I left you all hanging on the edge of your ergonomic roll-y office chairs, waiting for the party bag unveiling, so here it is: Bright Idea #3

Snot has been invited to numerous parties over the last 12mths (mainly girls, Hairy is proud), an d we’ve come home with all manner of items in our party bag.  In this day and age (man, I sound like my Nana!), people are reluctant to fill a bag with lollies to send home with the kids – and I can understand it, but does that mean my car/house/backyard has to be filled with so much useless crap??!?  Snot has about 6 mini slinkies that don’t work, bouncy balls that don’t bounce, yoyo’s that don’t yoyo,  a pair of novelty glasses that the lense fell out of before they even got home, necklaces with skulls and cross bones because heaven forbid a boy should get a beaded necklace in his bag!  I distinctly remember going to a fairy party (Snot was an elf, a blog for another day) and all the kids were looking in their bags at the end of the party – all the girls were pulling out small fairy wands, and Snot looked in his to see a finger skateboard.  He was devastated.  He wanted a fairy wand like his friends.  He was 3.5yrs old.  He didn’t understand why his bag was different.  And as the Mother had outsourced the party bags to her party planner, she didn’t have any leftovers.  I left with a very disappointed Elf, who wanted a fairy wand.  He got over it by the time he woke up, but he does ask me every now and again where his fairy wand is.

So with these experiences in mind, I set out to create a universal party bag, that contained a good ratio of lollies to goodies, and that wasn’t entirely full of crap!  I tried to keep it with the pool party theme, and think I managed reasonably successfully.

My original idea was to present the ‘bags’ in beach buckets – but I quickly realised that buckets would substantially increase my costs!  So the hunt was on for a bag large enough for my vision and didn’t involve licensed characters.  $2 store to the rescue!  I also wanted to make the party bag ‘last’ and have things for enjoyment past the first 24hrs.  And, of course, some just for fun stuff.  Here’s the stash:

 

Each bag contained: a beach ball, a crazy straw, 2 glow stick bracelets, a splash ball, 2 bubble pots, 2 ice blocks for later, a mini water pistol, a lollipop, some sherbet straws and a packet of smarties.  Once I’d put the bags together, I realised that in my quest for the ultimate party bag, I was lacking in lollies!!  A quick trip to Kmart for additional supplies and I had added some popping candy and something called ‘sparkling candy’ – I am yet to investigate what they actually are!  There is a distinct lack of chocolate, on purpose – I didn’t want melty freddos!  And I wanted individually packaged lollies.

I am quite pleased with the result, and so far, Snot is pretty impressed with his loot!

More party posts to come….. there are cupcakes for kindy, the cake, and the pool party debrief…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

